Maryland Turfgrass CouncilThe Maryland Turfgrass Council is a non-profit corporation governed by the Officers and Members of the Board of Directors. The Officers and Directors have one vote in all matters before the Council.

The officers include a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Past President. The offices of Secretary and Treasurer may be held by the same person. All officers are elected from the general membership to two-year terms, except the Past President.

There are currently nine Directors who represent different facets of the Maryland Turfgrass Industry. The Directors are elected from the general membership to three-year, two-year and one-year terms.

The Executive Director is a non-voting member of the Council, employed to maintain membership records, publish newsletters and assist Council activities.

There are currently six Advisors who are selected by the Board of Directors, and who serve as non-voting members of the Board. They include faculty of the University of Maryland, personel of the Maryland Department of Agriculture and Maryland Agriculture Commission.

For more information about the duties of MTC Officers and Board of Directors, see the Constitution and By-laws.

Vernon W. Cooper ( All States Turf Consultants / Owner/Agronomist )
Immediate Past President
Vernon has served on the MTC Board of Directors since 1975 as an advisor and board member. His goal is to continue the MTC's support of research by continuing to provide education in different venues, such as our new and improved MTC Turf News.
Lester Dubs ( Larchwood Landscape Company / )
Cheryl Gaultney ( Retired / )
Brian Gietka ( Fountain Head Country Club / Superintendent )
Three-Year Director
Richard LaNore ( MRW Lawns, Inc / Technical Director )
One-Year Director
Mark Leahy ( Blades of Green / )
Three-Year Director
Doug Lechlider ( Laytonsville Landscaping / )
Two-Year Director
Kevin Monaco ( Turf Equipment and Supply / Owner )
One-Year Director
William Patton, Sr. ( Turf Center Lawns / Owner )
One-Year Director
Les Phelps ( Anne Arundel Co. Public Schools / )
Two-Year Director
Jamie Roell ( Anne Arundle County Recreation and Parks / )
Two-Year Director
Bill Warpinski ( Central Sod Farm / President )
Vice President
Rick Williams ( Pennington Seed Co. / )
Three-Year Director