The Maryland Turfgrass Council is a non-profit corporation governed by the Officers and Members of the Board of Directors. The Officers and Directors have one vote in all matters before the Council.

The officers include a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Past President. The offices of Secretary and Treasurer may be held by the same person. All officers are elected from the general membership to two-year terms, except the Past President.

There are currently nine Directors who represent different facets of the Maryland Turfgrass Industry. The Directors are elected from the general membership to three-year, two-year and one-year terms.

The Executive Director is a non-voting member of the Council, employed to maintain membership records, publish newsletters and assist Council activities.

There are currently six Advisers who are selected by the Board of Directors, and who serve as non-voting members of the Board. They include faculty of the University of Maryland, personnel of the Maryland Department of Agriculture and Maryland Agriculture Commission.

For more information about the duties of MTC Officers and Board of Directors, see the Constitution and By-laws.


2018 MTC Board of Directors

Executive Director

Vernon Cooper

MTC Executive Director

All States Turf Consultants; Owner/ Agronomist

Email: Execdir@Mdturfcouncil.com

Vernon has served on the MTC Board of Directors from 1975 to 2014 as an advisor and board member. Spring of 2014 he accepted the position of Executive Director. His goal is to continue the MTC's support of research by continuing to provide education in different venues, such as our new and improved MTC Turf News.

President

Jamie Roell

Anne Arundle County Recreation and Parks

Email: rproel09@aacounty.org


Vice President

Ben Ellis

Golf Course Superintendent, Paint Branch Golf Course

Email: Golfturf54@gmail.com

Email: Ben.Ellis@PGParks.com

MTC Committee(s): Media, Communications


Secretary

Cheryl Gaultney

MTC Secretary/ Treasurer

Email: Sandqueen10@aol.com

Cheryl has served the MTC since 1976. She is the guiding finacial guru of the Council.

Treasurer

Katy Cooper

MTC Treasurer

Email: Treasurer@MDTurfcouncil.com 

Board Member

Keith Bowman

McHale Landscape Design

Email: Keithb@mchalelandscape.com



Board Member

Matt Coates

Washington Nationals Baseball

Email: Matt.Coates@Nationals.com


Board Member

Shaun Meredith

Calvert County Parks and Recreation

Email: Shaun.Meredith@calvertcountymd.gov



Board Member

Kimberly Bohn

Newsom Seed

Email: Kimberly@newsomseed.com


Board Member

Brandon Sands

Maryland National Capital Park and Panning Commission

Email: Brandon.Sands@pgparks.com


Board Member

Amanda Stillwagon

Anne Arundel Co. Parks and Recreation

Email: Rpstil00@aacounty.org


Board Member

Perry Whaley

Newsom Seed

Email: Perry@Newsomseed.com

Board Member

Chuck Wilkes

Fisher and Son

Email: Cwilkes@fisherandson.com


Board Member

Doug Lechlider

Laytonsville Landscaping; Owner

Email: Doug@laytonsvillelandscaping.com


Past President

Bill Warpinski

Central Sod Farm, Owner

Email: Bill@centralsodmd.com


Advisor

David Coble

Ann Arundle County Recreation and 

Email: rcobl23@AAcounty.org



University Adviser

Geoffrey Rinehart

National Arboretum, Washington, D.C.

Email: Geoffrey.rhinehart@ars.usda.gov



The Maryland Turfgrass Council      P.O. Box 389, St. Michaels, MD 21663   Phone: (443) 742-6618       

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software